Quick and Easy Spring Rolls

Quick and Easy Spring Rolls || amayawrites

Quick and Easy Spring Rolls || amayawrites

I have had a hankering for Asian food this year. Back in Spokane, there was a delicious restaurant called Taste of Thai that I may have eaten at twice a month last fall.

Now that I am home, there are many less spontaneous Asian food runs. But I still get my fix with these spring rolls, which I eat almost every day for lunch. To be honest, the “fix” is for peanut sauce, but I can’t just eat that with a spoon now, can I?

Once a week, I make a big bowl of vegetable “coleslaw”. For my simple tastes, I just toss red cabbage, bell pepper, and cilantro. You may enjoy adding hot peppers, lettuce, tofu, carrots, pork, shrimp, avocado, jicama, radish, cucumbers, and other herbs. When farmer’s markets open again, this would be a great recipe to help you shop the season and use fresh produce.

To soften the rice paper, just run it under cold water and let it rest on a plate. In a few minutes, it’ll be pliable and ready for fillings. No soaking required!

And talk about budget-friendly! Even in the winter, the vegetables for these rolls only cost about $5. The package of rice paper wrapping will last about a month and is $4.

This is a great recipe for clean-eating, too. The vegetables are raw, high in water, fiber, and vitamins, and low in fat. I don’t feel guilty dressing it up with peanut sauce or chili garlic sauce. And if you don’t like messing around with rice paper, this “slaw” goes great on top of rice noodles or in a vegetable-based soup.

It’s easy for me to ignore or snack my way through lunch, but as part of my vision for 2015, I am committing to putting time into making food that I enjoy. Do you like lunch, or could you pass on it?

One thought on “Quick and Easy Spring Rolls

Leave a Reply

