How I Manage A Capsule Wardrobe in College

I didn’t mean to end up with a capsule wardrobe. I’m aware of the process and admire the concept, but packing for my last semester of undergrad, I didn’t think about putting together a small wardrobe, or keeping my items under a certain number. I did ruthlessly choose only the items that I loved and felt comfortable in. I did a few edits this weekend, pulling out my few summery pieces and putting them away. I put everything back in my closet and did a quick count. Including my two jackets and two cocktail dresses, I have 35 items.wadrobe.jpg

Not all of my clothes are pictured, and I didn’t count my scarves or shawls even though they are picture.

The totals are:

  • 4 skirts
  • 2 body-con dresses
  • 2 cocktail dresses
  • 4 pants
  • 5 sweaters
  • 2 dolman tops
  • 4 nice tee-shirts
  • 2 plain black long sleeve shirts
  • 1 denim button-up
  • 4 tank tops
  • 3 cardigans
  • 2 coats

I do laundry about twice a month; it’s easier now that I am wearing boots because before I was limited by the number of invisible socks I have. I wear most of my garments twice before washing them, unless they get stained. It’s not apparent to anyone that I have a small wardrobe, or else they’re just not commenting on it.

I’m just so pleased every time I open my little closet and see my favorite things; looking put together has become convenient because I simply don’t have very casual clothes (by choice – capsule wardrobes can certainly exude casual style if the owner desires). Even when I wear my wide-legged jeans and a loose sweater, the colors and fabric are on point so it never looks sloppy.

I can tell that I am on the verge of needing to replace a fair amount of my items as my taste in fabric changes (matures, maybe). For example, I have a bright red sundress that is made with a very swingy jersey; it was a favorite when I got it a few years ago, but these days I desire a thicker, sturdier fabric for dresses and will probably replace it with a ponte fabric piece. Some of my items are getting to be four years old and starting to look it with pilling and color fading. I am starting to research the lifespan of higher-end clothes, as these four-year old items are the exception, not the norm, of the places I tend to shop at.

Capsule Wardrobe Resources:

One thought on “How I Manage A Capsule Wardrobe in College

Leave a Reply

